Legislative Leaders Named

state_capitol_dawn07_4080Republicans and Democrats in the Senate and Assembly have caucused and elected their leadership for the 2013-14 legislative session. Most leaders are returning to leadership positions and their selection was expected, but the election of Senator Chris Larson of Milwaukee as Democratic leader was a bit of a surprise. The first-term legislator defeated Senator Jon Erpenbach of Middleton, who was considered the front-runner for the post after serving in the legislature since 1999.

Republicans selected Representative Robin Vos of Burlington to replace Speaker Jeff Fitzgerald who gave up his seat to run for United States Senate. Vos is currently co-chair of the Joint Finance Committee. Vos said that he will work in a bipartisan fashion, “My style is one of inclusiveness. I want everyone to feel I will always listen.” At the same time, he promised Republicans will pursue an “aggressive¬†agenda.” The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel reported earlier this week that nine Assembly Republicans have gone on record with their support of legislation that would declare the Affordable Care Act — Obamacare — illegal and allow state police to arrest federal workers who try to implement the law.

2013-14 Legislative Leadership

Senate Republicans

Senate Democrats

Assembly Republicans

Assembly Democrats