Walker Names Three to Board of Regents

Governor Scott Walker announced three new appointees to the University of Wisconsin System Board of Regents yesterday. The governor appointed former Lieutenant Governor Margaret Farrow and former state auditor Janice Meuller to replace outgoing Regent Jeffrey Bartell and Regent President Brent Smith. UW-Platteville student Joshua Inglett will replace UW-Madison student Katherine Pointer as the traditional student representative on the board. Regent Michael Falbo was named president last week.

The appointments are the first since the controversy over UW System’s budget reserves erupted and suggest that Governor Walker would like a hands-on board with more oversight and transparency.

Margaret Farrow is a former legislator, having served in the Assembly and Senate, and served as Wisconsin’s first female lieutenant governor from 2001-2002. Farrow is a native of Kenosha and a graduate of Marquette University. She resides in Pewaukee.

Janice Mueller served as state auditor in the Legislative Audit Bureau from 1998 until her retirement in 2011. Before that, she was an analyst with the Legislative Fiscal Bureau. Mueller is a Madison resident.

Joshua Inglett is an engineering physics student from Portage who has already launched his first business, JP Travel.

Citizen members of the Board of Regents serve seven-year terms and must be confirmed by the State Senate. Student members serve two-year terms that are also subject to senate confirmation. The governor appoints 14 of the 18 member board.