Spring Primary Election Today

Election_Day_voting12_5570Voters throughout Wisconsin may vote in spring primary elections until 8 pm this evening.

Information on registration and voting in Wisconsin is available here. Photo identification is not required to vote.

PROFS is watching a few races today:

Senate District 20 Three Republicans are vying to replace former State Senator Glenn Grothman who was elected to Congress in November:

  • Former State Representative Duey Stroebel
  • Ozaukee County Chairman Lee Schlenvogt
  • Veteran Tiffany Koehler

No Democrat is on the April ballot, so today’s primary winner is all but guaranteed to win later this spring, increasing the Republican majority to 19-14.

Waukesha County Executive State Senator Paul Farrow of Waukesha is one of four Republican candidates. Farrow said if elected he will remain in the Senate through the state budget process.

Madison Mayor Incumbent Mayor Paul Soglin faces four challengers today:

  • former Dane County Board member Richard Brown
  • activist Christopher Daly
  • former alderperson Bridget Maniaci
  • Alderman Scott Resnick

The top two vote-getters will be on the April ballot.